ACS – Alternative Community Services Waiver

AD – Adult Development

CAP - Client Assistance Program

CARF – Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities

CMHC – Community Mental Health Center

CSR - Continued Stay Revue

DDTCS - Developmental Day Treatment Clinic Services

DME - Durable Medical Equipment

EOMB - Explanation of Medicaid Benefits

HDC - Human Development Center

HCBW - Home and Community Based Waiver

ICF - Intermediate Care Facility

IEP - Individualized Education Program

IHP - Individualized Habilitation Program

IFSP - Individualized Family Service Plan

IPP - Individual Program Plans

LRE - Least Restrictive Environment

LTC - Long Term Care

MAPS - Mulit-Agency Plan of Service

MSN - Medicaid Summary Notice

PCSP - Person Centered Service Plan

POC - Plan of Care

PRTF - Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility


CLI - Creative Living, Inc. (Schneider House)

DDPA - Developmental Disabilities Provider Association

DRC - Disability Rights Center of Arkansas

FCCDD - Faulkner County Council on Developmental Disabilities

ILS - Independent Living Services

SLI – Sheltered Living, Inc. (Patterson House)

UCPA - United Cerebral Palsy Associations

UW – United Way


ADD - Attention Deficit Disorder

ADHD - Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder

CP – Cerebral Palsy

DD – Developmental Disability

ID - Intellectual Disability

LD - Learning Disability

MI - Mental Illness

PWD – People with Disabilities

SED – Severely Emotionally Disturbed

TBI - Traumatic Brain Injury

Job Titles

AC - Adult Companion

CM - Case Manager

CST - Community Skills Trainer

DCS – Direct Care Supervisor

DSP - Direct Support Professional

EST - Employment Skills Trainer

LCSW - Licensed Clinical Social Worker

LST - Life Skills Trainer

LSW - Licensed Social Worker

OT – Occupational Therapist

PT – Physical Therapist

QMRP – Qualified Mental Retardation Professional

ST - Speech Therapist

Federal Agencies

ADD - Administration on Developmental Disabilities

ATBCB - Architecture and Transportation Barriers Compliance Board

CMS - Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services

DOE - Department of Education

DOJ - Department of Justice

DRS - Department of Rehabilitation Services

EEOC - Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

HHS - Department of Health and Human Services

HUD - Department of Housing and Urban Development

SSA - Social Security Administration

State Agencies

ADE - Arkansas Department of Education

ADH - Arkansas Department of Health

APS - Adult Protective Service

ARS - Arkansas Rehabilitation Services

CHDC – Conway Human Development Center

CMS - Children’s Medical Services

CPS - Child Protective Services

DDC - Arkansas Governor’s Developmental Disabilities Council

DDS - Developmental Disabilities Services

DHS - Department of Human Services

DHHS - Department of Health and Human Services

PIC - Partners for Inclusive Communities

Federal/State Programs & Laws

ABA - Architectural Barriers Act of 1968

ADA - Americans with Disabilities Act

ADAAG - Americans with Disabilities Act Architectural Guidelines

ESY - Extended School Year for Special Education Services

ICAN - Increasing Capabilities Access Network

IDEA - Individuals with Disabilities Education Act

PASS - Plan to Achieve Self Sufficiency

SSDI - Social Security Disability Insurance, Title 11

SSI - Supplemental Security Income

TANF - Temporary Assistance for Needy Families

TERFA - Tax Equity Fiscal Responsibility Act